Ruchikala (The Art of Taste)

Indian Fusion Cuisine in Portland and Tucson

In preparation for my Indian food exploration voyage next year I am trying to work myself out of a western Indian-foods mindset (I’m talking to you chicken tikka masala!).

I thought brown skin and a loose (and I mean LOOSE) knowledge of south Indian staples made me exempt from this ignorance.  Turns out, it doesn’t.  I’ve known little to nothing about Bengali cooking and being a lady with some serious fish lust – this may be considered to be a crime.  Bengali cuisine is known to have the most marvelous spicy and earth fish delicacies that make use of the most pungent of Indian spices.  (And finally gives fennel a shot at the big leagues)

This is a Bengali fish curry that I pulled from 660 Curries(a Curry anthology!).  I made some additions and subtractions here and there adding my mother’s recipe for coconut almond chutney.  Ridiculously delicious. 

Panch Phoron – we will meet again.  (since it seems I was Bengali in a past life)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
