Ruchikala (The Art of Taste)

Indian Fusion Cuisine in Portland and Tucson

So today is the day – it has finally come to this.  Mole has been a journey I have always been curious to embark on.  I had always planned to until about a year ago when I met my friend Mia who makes the most amazing mole I have ever tasted in my life.  This ruined me for mole in Tucson.   It took two seconds on my tongue to make me regret ever plugging Maya Quetzal’s “no”-le.  Over time however it became very apparent that I would need to ride this good ship mole-pop for three reasons.

 A) Asking  someone to make mole for you kinda seems like the equivalent to asking someone to file your taxes for you.

 B) A recent challenge from the cheffetes led me to a mole/curry   fire/ice off (stay tuned for details)  

C) I can’t resist an opportunity to play with spices and chilles.

So mole and curry  – friends?  Lovers?  Certain moles share many similarities to Indian curries.  Both dishes take seemingly strange raw ingredients and toast them at varying levels to create intense richness of flavors ranging from nutty, to spicy, to sweet, to creamy, to mouth wateringly effervescent.  They are distant cousins on opposite sides of the world waiting desperately to swap mix tapes. 

 I am absolutely thrilled to see how this all plays out.  I am going to be very loosely following Rick Bayless’s recipe for Teloloapan Red Mole (I’ve never had red mole before).  I wussed out on a few of the following ingredients… I found out I was out of pepitas (I know, I know but I’ll work pistachios instead), tomatillos, I have no idea how to get a hold of an avocado leaf.  2 ½ cups of lard? Oh Rick Bayless – I’m sorry.  Olive oil it is. Vegetable stock instead of chicken,   

I got my dried passila, guajillo ready to bounce. 

I got my cinnamon, cloves, marjoram, and anise waiting ever so patiently. 

I have my peanuts,   my pistachios, my almonds, my sesame seeds – Let’s do this thing!

Mia – I dedicate this mole to you.  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2010 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

